Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

Artists' Statements and Interviews Guide

Finding Aids

Finding Aids -- Full Text:

Art & Architecture Archive

A full-text archive of periodicals comprising research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The issues are presented as full-color page images; detailed article-level indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material. Covers art of all periods, including pre-history and ancient art and architecture, from geographic regions. Search under artist's statement or artist's interview

 

Jstor

Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year. Search artist interview and artist statement. Search artist's name or type of artist (eg. "Sculptor") with" Interview" or "Statement."

 

Project Muse

Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books. Search artist interview and artist statement. Search artist's name or type of artist (eg. "Sculptor") with" Interview" or "Statement."

 

Finding Aids -- Indexes and Abstracts:

Art Abstracts

Art Abstracts™ is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations, and indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions, which provide examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers mostly English language published articles in fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. For earlier years see Art Index Retrospective, which can be searched at the same time by checking both titles under Databases from the search form.

 

Art Index Retrospective

A comprehensive resource for art information featuring high-quality indexing of over 600 primarily English language art and architecture periodicals published from 1929-1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing of over 13,000 almost art reproductions, which provide examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Continued by Art Abstracts.

 

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art   

1973-2008       Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. BHA is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989.

 

International Bibliography of Art 

2008 -  IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

 

ARTbiliographies Modern

1972-   Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations and exhibition reviews.The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late twentieth century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.


 


 

Periodicals

Perché.  Roma: Edizioni Magazzino d'arte moderna, 1999-

 

View: Oakland, CA: Point Publications, 1978-81

Compendia

Robertson, Jack.   Twentieth-century artists on art: an index to artists' writings, statements, and interviews.  Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985.  -- An international index to artist writings which covers 5,000 artists.


World artists, 1950-1980 : an H.W. Wilson biographical dictionary / by Claude Marks. New York: H.W. WIlson, 1984. Biographical /critical essays on renowned artists along with excerpts from artist statements.

Internet Resources

artist statements: an archive.   A compendium of statements by approximately 20 modern and contemporary artists.

 

Also look at:

  • gallery websites - and statements made by the artist describing their work for an exhibition
  • 'about the artist' on artists blogs
  • artists' websites - where it might be found under a number of headings such as 'About the Artist', Bio, Work etc.

 

 

Widewalls 10 Best Art and Artist Podcast Series

Includes Links to Widewalls, The Art Newspaper, David Zwirner, ArtTactic, Hyperallergic, The Jealous Curator, Great Women Artists, VantagePoint Radio, The Art History Babes, Art Party, and In Other Words Podcasts