Archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), covering current events, international relations, and public policy
America's oldest weekly magazine and journal of opinion, covering politics, culture, books and the arts. Visit TheNation.com for limited access to current issues.
Full access to the online Washington Post from 2004-present. WaPo content before 2004 is available through other library resources.
Site-wide access is available from a web browser on any device through the library proxy, on campus or at home. More information on creating an account is available: https://library.vassar.edu/wapo
Use the link here- it's different than washingtonpost.com and routes through the Vassar Library proxy server.
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
Index of scholarly articles on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Date range of the articles:1955-present. Date range of the subject matter: 1450-present
Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides full indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Indexing and abstracts for key journals in communications, mass media, and related fields of study. Level of access and searchability for titles vary. Information about journals will include indexing and abstracts, and may include full text, PDFs, or searchable cited references. Also provides a thesaurus and author profiles. Date range: 1915 - present
Includes the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State)
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
The Web of Science “Core Collection” includes the following:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)
Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S)
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH)
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)
Index Chemicus (IC)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals; also includes articles from newspapers and reference books. Date range: 1905 - present
Links to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
Highlights critical and timely research into the multiple junctures between politics and issues of race, ethnicity, immigration, and indigeneity, as well as their intersections with other axes of identity and marginalization.
The Journal of Popular Culture aims to break down barriers between so-called “low” and “high” culture and focuses on filling in the gaps a neglect of popular culture has left in our understanding of the workings of society.
