This collection documents a lesser-known aspect of Albert Einstein’s career: his social and political work in the United States and abroad, with special attention to Jewish affairs. The collection was formed by Einstein's friend and executor to his will, Otto Nathan, an economist and professor at several institutions of higher learning, including Vassar College.

A number of letters between Nathan and Einstein discuss the fate of Jews in Europe and other aspects of World War II. Others deal with Brandeis University, Jewish affairs in the United States, and personal matters. There are also letters from Elsa Einstein to Nathan, and the collection includes some manuscripts, ephemera and photographs of Einstein.

Listing of the 1000+ archives that contain Einstein material. Many of these collections are not digitized, but some are.

Guide to sources related to the founding of the university, created by Brandeis University Librarians.

Relevant collections include the International Workers' Order and Jewish People's Fraternal Order. Especially useful for Cold War related topics, such as Rosenberg trial.

An open-access site for The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, the ongoing publication of Einstein's massive written legacy comprising more than 30,000 unique documents.

Collection of FBI documents made public through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

Search platform including archival collections from many institutions and organizations on multiple topics. Collections containing Einstein material include many civil rights organizations in the NYPL, and the FDR Presidential Library, as well as Einstein's FBI File.

Guidance and links to many digitized collections. Most printed HUAC hearing transcripts are findable via HathiTrust, Google Books, and the Internet Archive. This directory can help you find names of hearings to search for.