Vassar history theses are available in Archives & Special Collections. Use Library Search and try a keyword search that includes history and thesis. In the page of results, select Location -> Archives & Special Collections (Thesis). The search will turn up some non-History department theses that use the word "history" in their title, but other than that, it's an effective search for browsing.
Interlibrary Loan allows you to request materials like books and articles from other libraries. Check Library Search first to see if what you need is at Vassar!
If you have any questions about an ILL request, do not hesitate to email ill@vassar.edu. The ILL office is in our Main library and the staff will respond promptly.
If ILL cancels your request and you have questions about why, contact researchhelp@vassar.edu. Often it's because of an incomplete citation or because the item requested is archival material that does not circulate. We can help you consider your next steps.
Vassar is a member of the Center for Research Libraries, which makes available more than 4.5 million publications, archives, and collections, and well over one million digital resources, to its member libraries. Previous thesis writers have received reels of microfilm, books, and digitized materials from CRL; think of it as a powerful supplement to our ILL services and online databases. For more information about getting items from CRL, check out this guide.
In WorldCat, if you click "Libraries worldwide that own this item," you will see a list of libraries who own the item, presented in geographical order based on their distance from Vassar. If you cannot borrow an item through Interlibrary Loan, you may be able to view/use it in person.
If you need to visit another library or archive for your thesis research, always confirm ahead. Speak with a librarian or archivist to plan your visit. You want to confirm that you will be given access to the library and that the resources you need will be available. The librarian or archivist may also be able to tell you more about the collections or materials that are of interest to you, or guide you to additional relevant collections. You might need to make an appointment, bring a letter of introduction, or another requirement for access. (See below about the SHARES program, which can assist you with these processes at partner institutions.)
Vassar is also a member of the OCLC SHARES program, which is both an interlibrary loan service and an agreement that allows researchers from one SHARES institution to visit other SHARES member libraries and gain access to collections and services. Check the list of partner institutions and view information about their policies for SHARES visitors.
Before you visit other libraries, talk to a Vassar librarian! We may have additional tips or connections that we will happily share.
You are expected to use Turabian/Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) conventions in your thesis. What we refer to as "Turabian" is a simplified version of CMOS, developed by Kate Turabian to clarify citation methods in research papers, theses, and dissertations (as opposed to works intended for publication).
