Skip to Main Content
Vassar

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

POLI 283: Democracy, Class, and Ethnicity in Africa

Key Databases

Reading & Evaluating Articles

Pain, E. (2016). How to (seriously) read a scientific paper.  Science Magazine. 10.1126/science.caredit.a1600047.

Jump Around
​It's okay to skip around in a scholarly article. Start by skimming the abstract, introduction, conclusion, and look at images or data representations. If the article looks to be useful for your purposes, read it from the beginning to end. 

Keep It Strategic
While you are reading, reflect on how the article relates to what you want to write about or research. ​​ 

Mark It Up
​​Take notes. Interact with the article. How do the ideas or information presented relate to what you want to write about?

Cut through the Jargon
Unfamiliar technical terms? Google or use a specialized dictionary to find definitions. 

Replay​
If the article is relevant after you've read through it, consider reading it again. 

Find the Source 
​References can be a very useful resource. Be sure to skim the titles in the References section. You could find another scholarly article you want to read. 

Adapted from: https://libguides.valdosta.edu/reading-scholarly-articles

  • Journal & Article Evaluation Checklist (great for your own writing too)
  • Web of Science Journal Impact Factor  
    • WoS indexes a smaller collection of higher quality journals; WoS will rank the journals included in its indexes. 
    • In WoS search results, click on the journal title to view the JIF and more information.
  • View author profiles and publications in Web of Science, Scopus, GoogleScholar, researcher/institutional websites
  • View article citation metrics; this doesn't equal consensus or quality, however may indicate an impact on subsequent research.
  • Ulrich's international periodicals directory
    • Contains listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. It also contains complete names and addresses of journal publishers

See also: 

As you start your research and throughout your research process, consider:

  • Which groups seem to be at the center of debates and analysis for the topic you are interested in? Are there any groups at the margins or periphery of research? Are there groups that are mentioned but not prioritized?
    • Who are the stakeholders? 
    • What voices could or should be included in your research?
    • If you looking at a particular community or geographic region, do you have sources from that community or region?
    • Are particular groups especially affected by the topic you're discussing? Do you have sources from those groups?
  • Where are the 'community spaces' (physical or digital spaces, or resources) where different groups have a voice and are able to freely express, represent, and self-determine their own identities?  

Becker Medical Library Model for Assessment of Research Impact 

Below is a modified, abbreviated framework for tracking research outputs to locate indicators that demonstrate evidence of research impact. Created to evaluate medical research, many of the considerations presented can be applied to research in other disciplines. 

Advancement of Knowledge

What was created by the research study?

How has the research output and activities been used? 

 
  • How does the study expand knowledge in a field?
    • Do the study findings represent a paradigm shift?
    • Lead to change in understanding a problem? 
  • Number of citations (cited by)
    • Has the study been references by other researchers?
    • What do the cited by sources represent? Countries, institutions, languages, subjects?
  • Is the study data available? 
  • Has the study Included in a subsequent research review (systematic review/ meta analysis?) 
  • Has the study been cited or noted as being an important work?
  • Was there any media buzz about this study? 
  • Was the research or researchers awarded prizes, as having a significant contribution? 

Community Benefit

How has community health been enhanced as a result of this research? 
  • Has the study changed public awareness or offers an intervention?
  • Is the study cited in materials that assist with healthcare decision making or in materials for patients or the public?
  • Can the study findings help to improve the standard of care? 

Clinical Implementation

Has the research been adopted in clinical activities or applications? 
  • Has the research been cited in a clinical decision aid?
  • Is the research being used in consumer health materials? 
  • Has the research resulted in a clinical guideline or point-of-care resource? 

Economic Benefit

What economic benefits were produced from result of research outputs and/or activities?
  • Does the research have an affect on cost savings pertaining to the effectiveness of resources?
  • Does the research aid in prevention or management of health risks?
  • Has the research resulted in an increase in quality of life or quality of healthcare services?
  • Does the research impact on life expectantly, morbidity, or mortality rates?
Legislation and Policy Enactment
 
How has the research influenced legislation or policy enactment? 
  • Has the research been cited or use in the development of policy or legislation, regulation? 
  • Have the researcher(s) been invited to serve on advisory boards or included in policy development?

Bernard Becker Medical Library, Washington University School of Medicine
https://becker.wustl.edu/impact-assessment

Not all articles will use these exact subheadings, however these questions can still be used to focus your reading.

Article Section Key Questions
Abstract
  • What is the objective of the study or article?
  • What results or conclusions are presented in the abstract?
Introduction
  • What issues does the author seem to be concerned about?
  • What is the gap in previous research that the authors are addressing with this study?
  • Does the author(s) introduce theory?
Methods
  • How does the author test their hypothesis or conduct their analysis?
  • What data or evidence was collected? How is it used?
Results
  • What were the major findings or conclusions of the article?
  • Are the main findings expected?
Discussion
  • Does the article meet its objectives?
  • Does the author address the problems or limitations of their research methods?
  • What does the author suggest as future research?