Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

ANTH 387: Revolutionary Subjects and Political Futures

Reading & Evaluating Articles

Pain, E. (2016). How to (seriously) read a scientific paper. Science Magazine. 10.1126/science.caredit.a1600047.

Jump Around
It's okay to skip around in a scholarly article. Start by skimming the abstract, introduction, conclusion, and look at images or data representations. If the article looks to be useful for your purposes, read it from the beginning to end.

Keep It Strategic
While you are reading, reflect on how the article relates to what you want to write about or research.

Mark It Up
Take notes. Interact with the article. How do the ideas or information presented relate to what you want to write about?

Cut through the Jargon
Unfamiliar technical terms? Google or use a specialized dictionary to find definitions.

Replay
If the article is relevant after you've read through it, consider reading it again.

Find the Source
References can be a very useful resource. Be sure to skim the titles in the References section. You could find another scholarly article you want to read.

Adapted from: https://libguides.valdosta.edu/reading-scholarly-articles

Journal & Article Evaluation Checklist (great for your own writing too)
Web of Science Journal Impact Factor
- WoS indexes a smaller collection of higher quality journals; WoS will rank the journals included in its indexes.
- In WoS search results, click on the journal title to view the JIF and more information.
View author profiles and publications in Web of Science, Scopus, GoogleScholar, researcher/institutional websites
View article citation metrics; this doesn't equal consensus or quality, however may indicate an impact on subsequent research.
Ulrich's international periodicals directory
- Contains listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. It also contains complete names and addresses of journal publishers

See also:

Vassar Libraries' guide to evaluating sources
- ACT UP method: Author, Currency, Truth, Unbias, Privilege
Introduction to Lateral Reading (aka, going to the source, or as close as possible.)

As you start your research and throughout your research process, consider:

Which groups seem to be at the center of debates and analysis for the topic you are interested in? Are there any groups at the margins or periphery of research? Are there groups that are mentioned but not prioritized?
- Who are the stakeholders?
- What voices could or should be included in your research?
- If you looking at a particular community or geographic region, do you have sources from that community or region?
- Are particular groups especially affected by the topic you're discussing? Do you have sources from those groups?
Where are the 'community spaces' (physical or digital spaces, or resources) where different groups have a voice and are able to freely express, represent, and self-determine their own identities?

Not all articles will use these exact subheadings, however these questions can still be used to focus your reading.

Article Section	Key Questions
Abstract	What is the objective of the study or article? What results or conclusions are presented in the abstract?
Introduction	What issues does the author seem to be concerned about? What is the gap in previous research that the authors are addressing with this study? Does the author(s) introduce theory?
Methods	How does the author test their hypothesis or conduct their analysis? What data or evidence was collected? How is it used? Was a theoretical framework applied?
Results	What were the major findings or conclusions of the article? Are the main findings expected?
Discussion	Does the article meet its objectives? Does the author address the problems or limitations of their research methods? What does the author suggest as future research?

Using Sources

The BEAM model provides a framework for identifying how you might use a source in your own research. However, BEAM can also be used during the research process, for distilling a body of work, or identifying gaps (i.e. does one of the BEAM components need to be better addressed?)