Skip to main content

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

DIGITIZED MUSICAL SCORES AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET

This list is not exhaustive, but demonstrates the range of digitized scores that are available free on the internet as of March 2009.

MANUSCRIPTS

Bach Digital

"Bach digital is a large, detailed, powerful database for exploring the constantly updated research findings on Johann Sebastian Bach and other composers in his family. Included are: complete, high-resolution scans of compositions (including 90 per cent of J.S. Bach’s works)"

Bayerische StaatsBibliothek, Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum Digitale Bibliothek. 

Collections of autographs, manuscripts and or papers of: Distler, Eisler, Hartman, Michael Haydn, Mahler, Orff, Pfitzner, Reger, Rheinberger, Richard Strauss, and among others and the Schott-Archiv. Note: some are unavailable to off-site viewers.  See also Primarily Published Editions for more content.

Beethoven-Haus Bonn.  

Music manuscripts, sketches and printed music by Beethoven and other composers.

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM).

University of Oxford, and Royal Holloway University of LondonMUST SET UP FREE ACCOUNT TO SEE IMAGES. 

Juilliard Manuscript Collection

An extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school.

Library of Congress. Collections of Notated Music

A VAST array of music manuscripts, printed music and sheet music collections.  Subjects range from classical to popular, patriotic songs, show tunes, Civil War music.....

The Moldenhauer Archives at the Library of Congress.

Contains approximately 3,500 items documenting the history of Western music from the medieval period through the modern era and is the richest composite gift of musical documents ever received by the Library. 

Music Treasures Consortium 

Included in the array of Collections of Notated Music available through the Library of Congress, the Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. Search them all by going to "Collection Items" and limiting by facets or browse by member:

Parker Library on the Web.

Includes the Winchester Troper.

     Sibley Music Library of the University of Rochester.

Manuscripts, and Scores and books in the public domain. "Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.” PDF downloads