Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Film Studies

Film Specific Databases and Indexes

These subject specific resources index journals core to the study of film and television, including many international and professional practice-focused journals and magazines.Some of them contain full-text of journals, and those that don't usually provide links to the full-text.

All databases are available from the Library home page in the Databases Directory alphabetically and by subject.

Film & Television Literature Index

F&TLI is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The records in this database aren't comprehensively included in Library Search, so it's important to include this resource in your literature source if you're looking for articles from film journals.

FIAF International Film and Television Archive

Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.

Manchester Film & Media Studies Collection

Collection of ebooks from the University of Manchester Press. Please note these ebooks are included in the Vassar Library Finder; use this resource directly if you only want ebooks from Manchester University Press.

Multidisciplinary and Related Subject Databases

America: History and Life
Includes indexing and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations on culture and history. A:H&L covers the U.S. and Canada, while Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world. It's particularly useful for finding articles about the cultural context and impact of films and the history of the film industry. You can search both AH&L and Historical Abstracts together by clicking on "Choose Databases" on the search page.
Historical Abstracts
World history after 1450 excluding U.S. and Canada.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - Present
Indexes scholarly journals, dissertations and monographs pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It covers cinema and film journals selectively, focusing on film as text and film adaptations of literary sources.
Project MUSE
A full text collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, Project Muse contains many titles that focus on cultural criticism, including film.
ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals. Coverage 1850 - present
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.