It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.
Gray literature consists of materials published outside of the traditional, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal and can include such things as preprints, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, etc. Gray literature may qualify as a primary source if it describes original research. Quality standards for gray literature may be less stringent (or non-existent) so you should exercise more caution when using these materials. You can find a lot of gray literature by searching the discipline-specific article databases listed on the "Find Articles" tab, but this page also has some resources you might want to explore.
Searchable database of preprints relevant to computing.
An e-print is an electronically published research article and might refer to a pre-print, post-print, reprint, technical report, or other document. A preprint is a draft of an article not yet peer-reviewed or accepted for publication in a scholarly journal. A postprint is the peer-reviewed and accepted version of an article. A reprint is a copy of the published article.The purpose of e-prints is to share research findings with others prior to formal publication, as well as after publication.
Database of electronic preprints (drafts of articles that have not yet been peer-reviewed or published) covering the areas of physics, astronomy, math, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.
Gateway to websites and databases containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies.
OAIster has millions of records harvested from institutional repositories of nearly a thousand institutions including MIT, CalTech, Stanford etc. Use it to find articles, theses, technical reports and other gray literature. Most but not all links go to fulltext or to a research website.
Science.gov searches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies,offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Provides free public access to thousands of full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees.
ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to the Department of Energy such as chemistry, physics, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Database of records for each paper delivered at a conference, workshop, symposia, or other meeting. (This database consists of the table of contents of the proceedings in the ProceedingsFirst database.) Indexing goes back to 1993.