Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Computer Science

This guide will help you navigate information resources in computer science.

Journal Article Databases

To find articles, try the databases listed below. When you find an article you like, look for links that will send you to the full-text of the article. If you have difficulty finding the full-text, check Vassar Journals Collection or the Library Search to see if the Library owns the journal and has the year/volume you need.

1. Discipline-specific Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

ACM Digital Library
Database of journal articles covering the field of computing including all articles published in Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, as well as ACM conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia.
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
The IEEE Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL) provides online access to 27 society magazines and transactions and more than 3,300 conference publications.

2. Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

Web of Science
Database of articles from over 10,000 scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1984. This database provides cited reference searching capability.
Scopus
Database of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing for many journals begins in 1996 but there is historical coverage for journals published by Elsevier, Springer, and some chemistry and physics society publishers. This database provides cited reference searching capability.

3. Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Both Popular and Scholarly Articles

ProQuest
Database of articles from over 4,500 journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Subject coverage spans the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The diverse mix of publication types and broad subject scope makes this database a useful starting point.
Academic OneFile
Database of articles from over 14,000 journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Subject coverage spans the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Like ProQuest, the diverse mix of publication types and broad subject scope makes this database another useful starting point.

5. Other Databases to Try

MathSciNet
Database of articles from over 2,000 journals covering the mathematical sciences. Indexing for some books, proceedings, and dissertations is also included. Includes reviews of mathematical research contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. Indexing for some titles begins in the early 1800s.
Zentralblatt Math
Database of journal articles, books, conference papers, etc. covering pure and applied mathematics. Spans 1826 to present.
OAlster
OAIster has millions of records harvested from institutional repositories of nearly a thousand institutions including MIT, CalTech, Stanford etc. Use it to find articles, theses, technical reports and other gray literature. Most but not all links go to fulltext or to a research website.

Google Scholar
Web-generated database of articles spanning all disciplines and harvested by Google from the websites of academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, etc.

Microsoft Academic Search
Free academic search engine developed by Microsoft Research that provides innovative ways to explore scientific publications, authors, conferences, journals, organizations and keywords.

Journals at Vassar

Vassar Journals Collection
Check to see which journals are owned by Vassar Library, their format (print or electronic), and their coverage dates.
Interlibrary Loan

How is a scholarly source different from a popular source?

Need help understanding the difference between scholarly sources and popular sources? Click here.

How is a primary source different from a secondary source?

Need help understanding what primary sources and secondary sources are? Click here.

What is a review article?

Not sure what a review article is? Click here.