Think of Discover as a "Googlizer" of most of the library's databases and collections, including the catalog and most of the subscription databases. It can be useful for finding ebooks that aren't represented in the catalog as well as doing a broad multidisciplinary search across resources. You can limit or filter your results for sources from peer reviewed/scholarly publications and for language, such as French.
You'll notice that some records for journal articles in Library Search have red arrows pointing up or down.
These arrows indicate that the full record contains articles that cite this source (upward arrow) and/or articles and books that are cited by this source (downward arrow). In addition, when you open the full record, you'll see links to Web of Science (including the Arts and Humanities and Social Science Citation Indexes) and Scopus, the 2 databases that supply that data. By using those links, you can find articles related to the item cited in the record. This is an excellent way of finding a discourse around the topic.
When you have a citation for an article from a bibliography or other source, such as
Freadman, Anne. "Breasts are Back! Colette's Critique of Flapper Fashion." French Studies: a Quarterly Review 60 (3), July 2006: 335-46.
Type the article or book title into the Library Search search box. In many cases, the article will be the first thing that appears on the list of results, with a link to the full text. In the case of a book, you may also find reviews in scholarly journals.
If you have trouble finding a book using a keyword search, use the "Starts With/Browse" link to search by author or book title.
To search within a particular journal or magazine, such as French Studies, click on the "Journals" button on the library website and search for the journal title.
Worldcat is a union catalog of most of the libraries in the United States, and many international libraries. You may use it to find books that are not held by the Vassar Libraries, but are available to you via interlibrary loan/ILLiad. You can limit to language: French on the search page.
This is a list of journals specifically on the study of fashion and clothing compiled by the librarians at the Fashion Institute of Technology:
Address: Journal for Fashion Criticism
Critical Studies in Fashion & Beauty
Dress: The Journal of the Costume Society of America
Fashion Practice: The Journal of Design, Creative Process & the Fashion Industry
Film, Fashion & ConsumptionInternational Journal of Fashion Studies
Journal of Textile Design Research and PracticeTextile History
Vestoj | The Platform for Critical Thinking on Fashion
