Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

Music 248: Collected Works Assignment

How to identify the collected works editions for a specific composer

Check the following:

Grove:

[Mus Ref Book ML100 .N48 2001]

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians. 2nd edition. London : Macmillan Publishers; Washington, D.C. : Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 2001. 29 volumes.

 

Grove Music Online  updates the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera,  (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition, (London, 2002). It also includes access to Oxford Music reference tools.

 

For this project, look for the Editions statement at the beginning of the Works list at the end of an article about a specific composer. 

Example: Bach, Johann Sebastian Grove Music Online article

You can also find the Edition statement at the beginning of the Works list at the end of an article about a specific composer in the published edition of Grove:

WorldCat database

Since Grove is not always up-to-date, do the following search in the WorldCat database to make sure you get all recent collected works:

Author (au:): “composer's last name, first name”

Uniform title (ut:): “Works”

Limit by year [a dialog box]: “1997-”

Put a check by "musical scores"

Results can be sorted by year by selecting "sort" at the upper left hand side.  Choose "Date" as the sort criteria.

Vassar College holdings are denoted by the following green icon:

 In your library VASSAR COL