The following two websites also present examples for citing basic formats (books, encyclopedias, online journals, etc.) in the Chicago Manual of Style citation format:
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition. (Purdue OWL)
Turabian is essentially a simplified version of the Chicago Manual of Style.
"Turabian" takes its name from Kate Turabian, the dissertation secretary at the University of Chicago for over 30 years who developed a guide for students and researchers writing papers, theses, and dissertations. This guide has evolved and has been revised many times, and, while based on the University of Chicago Press's Manual of Style, simplifies and departs from it in some aspects. Overall, "Turabian" synthesizes the rules most important for students' papers and other scholarly research not intended for publication, omits some of the publishing details and options that "Chicago" provides, and presents some of the same material in a clearer manner.
"Your FOOTNOTES should use first-line indents, which means: The first line of the citation is indented, and any lines after the first start against the left margin. If you use the Footnote functions in Microsoft Word or a similar word-processing program, this first-line indent will often be automatic.
Your BIBLIOGRAPHY, should use hanging indents, which means: If a citation requires more than one line, all lines after the first should be indented."
Source: Newton Gresham Library Sam Houston State University
There is disagreement about the correct form of citation for an article from the Grove Music Online because the Grove Music Online can be treated as a multiauthor book or as an online reference work. Check with your professor for preferred citation. For more information, see the Chicago Manual of Style Online sections: 14.107 Contribution to multiauthor book, 14.233 Reference works consulted online and 14.234 Citing Individual reference entries by author.
| Material Type | Footnotes | Bibliography |
|
Dictionary / Encyclopedia (print) for substantial, authored entry (Treated as multiauthor book. See [14.107]) |
1. Jon Newsom, "Dickinson, George Sherman," in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ed. Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell (London: MacMillan, 2001), 7:304.
|
Newsom, Jon. "Dickinson, George Sherman." In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell, vol. 7: 304. London: MacMillan, 2001. |
|
Dictionary/Encyclopedia entry (online) for substantial, authored entry [14.234 Citing Individual reference entries by author.]
OR |
1. Jon Newsom, "Dickinson, George Sherman," in Grove Music Online (Oxford University Press), accessed November 12, 2018, https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.07742. [The DOI (digital object identifier) for a Grove Music Online article is located immediately beneath article title and authors.] OR 2. Grove Music Online, s.v. “Toscanini, Arturo,” by David Cairns, accessed April 6, 2016, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/28197.
|
Newsom, Jon. "Dickinson, George Sherman." In Grove Music Online. Oxford University Press, 2001; online ed., 2001. https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.07742.
[The DOI (digital object identifier) for a Grove Music Online article is located immediately beneath article title and authors.] OR [Well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited in notes rather than in bibliographies.] |
NOTE: The citation provided by the Grove Music Online citation generator does not match this format.
|
Material Type |
Footnotes |
Bibliography |
|
DVD |
1. Tom Gibbons, Tom Gibbons: 1998 LWAG and Artplace expos, directed by Miriam Stannage (Perth, WA: Mirian Stannage, 1998), DVD.
|
Gibbons, Tom. Tom Gibbons: 1998 LWAG and Artplace expos. Directed by Miriam Stannage. Perth, WA: Miriam Stannage, 1998. DVD.
|
|
Sound recording (composer emphasis) |
1. Igor Stravinsky, Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum, with Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia, conducted by James O’Donnell, recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990, Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc. |
Stravinsky, Igor. Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum. Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia. James O’Donnel. Recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990. Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc. |
|
Sound recording (performer emphasis) |
1. Sara Macliver (soprano) and Sally-Anne Russell (mezzo-soprano), with Orchestra of the Antipodes and Antony Walker (conductor), Baroque Duets, ABC Classics 476 7737, 2005, compact disc. |
Macliver, Sara (soprano) and Sally-Anne Russell (mezzo-soprano). Orchestra of the Antipodes. Antony Walker. Baroque Duets. ABC Classics 476 7737, 2005, compact disc. |
|
Track from a sound recording |
1. Miles Davis, “So What,” on Kind of Blue, Columbia CK 64935, 1997, compact disc.
|
Davis, Miles. “So What.” On Kind of Blue. Columbia CK 64935, 1997, compact disc.
|
|
Sound recording (online) |
1. Johannes Brahms, Clarinet Sonatas, Kalman Berkes (clarinet) and Jeno Jando (piano), Naxos 8.553121, streaming audio, http://uwa.naxosmusiclibrary.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ catalogue/item.asp?cid=8.553121. |
Brahms, Johannes. Clarinet Sonatas. Kalman Berkes (clarinet) and Jeno Jando (piano). Naxos 8.553121, streaming audio. http://uwa.naxosmusiclibrary.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ catalogue/item.asp?cid=8.553121.
|
|
Liner notes (sound recording) |
1. Igor Stravinsky, Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum, with Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia, conducted by James O’Donnell, recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990, Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc. Liner notes by Ivan Moody. |
Stravinsky, Igor. Symphony of Psalms; Mass; Canticum Sacrum. Westminster Cathedral Choir and City of London Sinfonia. James O’Donnell. Recorded June 18-20, November 29, 1990. Hyperion CDA66437, 1991, compact disc. Liner notes by Ivan Moody. |
|
|
||
|
Music Scores (print) |
15. Aaron Copland, Concerto, Clarinet and String Orchestra (with Harp and Piano), Reduction for Clarinet and Piano (New York: Boosey & Hawkes, 1950), 10. |
Copland, Aaron. Concerto, Clarinet and String Orchestra (with Harp and Piano). Reduction for Clarinet and Piano. New York: Boosey & Hawkes, 1950. |
|
Music Scores (online) |
15. Johannes Brahms, Clarinet Sonata No.1 in F Minor, Op. 120, No.1, ed. Hans Gál (Germany: Breitkopf and Härtel, 1895), 3, https://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/view/ work/bibliographic_entity|score_movement|464771. |
Brahms, Johannes. Clarinet Sonata No.1 in F Minor, Op. 120, No.1. Edited by Hans Gál. Germany: Breitkopf and Härtel, 1895. https://search.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/ view/work/bibliographic_entity|score_movement|464771. |
|
Music Scores (unpublished manuscript) |
1. Ralph Shapey, “Partita for Violin and Thirteen Players,” score, 1966, Special Collections, Joseph Regenstein Library, University of Chicago.
|
Shapey, Ralph. "Partita for Violin and Thirteen Players." Score, 1966, Special Collections, Joseph Regenstein Library, University of Chicago. [14.230: Examples of bibliography entries for manuscript collections]
|
Much of the above was taken from this site: University of Western Australia.
A music example/figure is a quotation, so you must format and cite the example correctly. Turabian terminology uses "figure" instead of "example." You can insert music figures into your paper by photocopying from a score, or using Finale, Sibelius, or other score-writing programs.
Formatting the music figures:
1. Include the clef(s). If the measures you've copied from the score do not include clefs, then add them yourself on each line of the example.
2. Include measure numbers. Remember to use mm. for multiple measures (ms. means "manuscript"). example: mm. 36-39.
3. Give a title to your figures. Typically: Figure Number. Composer First Name Last, Title of work, measure numbers. Footnote superscript.
Figure 7. Johann Sebastian Bach, Adagio from Toccata, Adagio, and Fugue in C Major, BWV 564, mm. 26-31.3
Citation:
Insert a superscript at the end of your music example title and supply a corresponding footnote.
The footnote gives publication information about the score you used for your example.
The note for the above example is:
³ Johann Sebastian Bach, Bach-Gesellschaft Ausgabe, vol. 15, Drei Toccaten für Orgel, ed. Wilhelm Rush (Leipzig: Breitkopf und Härtel, 1867): 258.
Source: DePauw University Libraries. (Currently unavailable.)
In previous editions of the manual (16th edition and earlier) the abbreviation ibid. (abbreviated from the Latin "ibidem" which means "in the same place") was used to cite the same source and page number(s) from a single source two or more times consecutively. If you use the same source but a different page number, the corresponding note uses ibid followed by a comma and the new page number(s).
The 17th edition discourages the use of Ibid in favor of shortened citations.
Example:
6. Fabio Schillaci, Architectural Renderings: construction and design manual (Chichester: West Sussex: Wiley, 2010), 120. [First time cited in footnotes]
7. Schillaci, Architectural renderings, 251. [Second time cited in footnotes]
