- The copies in Reference and Reserve often disappear so it's advisable to buy your own to consult for your thesis work.
- Turabian is an abridged version of the Chicago Manual of Style, so using Chicago is Turabian.
For History papers, which tend to include many complex citations for primary sources, the bibliographies generated by citation management software often require so much proofing and editing, it's easier to format it yourself. HOWEVER, the software is great for organizing citations during your research and for generating "quick n' dirty" bibliographies to bring to an adviser or librarian appointment. Take advantage of Refworks' folder and even note system if you like. Ask a librarian for help.
Other scholars' bibliographies
Engage in the scholarly dialogue or scholarly conversation by following and referencing other scholars. This means using other scholar's footnotes and bibliographies to identify additional primary and secondary sources to consult in your own research and engaging with other scholars theories and evidence directly in your thesis. You must clearly place your thesis into the scholarly conversation by identifying what other scholars (i.e. secondary sources) you are working with.
An interdisciplinary index of scholarly journal articles. Web of Knowledge includes social science, arts and humanities and science citations. KEY about this database is its function as a citation tracker, i.e. it links to article references. For example if you have an article from 1998, WOK will indicate what articles have referenced that SINCE 1998, leading you to the most recent scholarship.
Ask a librarian for suggestions about what databases would be appropriate to search for your research. There are many specialized databases and article indexes that could be appropriate for you topic and allow you to identify unique and important sources!