Skip to main content

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

CITING MUSIC: APA STYLE

The BASICS OF APA CITATION STYLE, 6th EDITION

APA Style 

APA Works Cited Page: Basic Format‚Äč (Purdue OWL)

  • A compact overview of each style-including the APA CITATION STYLE --is presented by Purdue OWL in this  Citation Style Chart.  You may wish to keep this handy while writing your paper.

ABOUT INDENTATION

Your BIBLIOGRAPHY should use hanging indents, which means: If a citation requires more than one line, all lines after the first should be indented.

DOI vs URL?

In general when citing online materials use the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if available; otherwise, use the URL. See DOI and URL Flowchart - APA Style Blog As of March 2017, the new recommended format looks like this:

https://doi.org/10.1037/arc0000014

If using a URL, include Retrieved from as in the example below:

Crossref. (2016). Annual report 15–16. Retrieved from https://www.crossref.org/pdfs/annual-report-2015-16.pdf

Source: APA Style Blog 3/1/17

CITING GROVE MUSIC: APA STYLE, 6th EDITION

 Material Type

In-Text Citation

Bibliography

 THE NEW GROVE   DICTIONARY OF   MUSIC AND   MUSICIANS (PRINT)

(Newsom, 2001)

Newsom, J. (2001). Dickinson, George Sherman. In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Macmillan.

 GROVE MUSIC   (ONLINE)

(Newsom, 2001)

Newsom, J. (2001). Dickinson, George Sherman. In Grove Music Online. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.07742.

  [The DOI (Digital Object Identifier) for an article in Grove Music Online is located immediately beneath the article's title and authors.]

NOTE: The citation provided by the Grove Music Online citation generator does not match this format.  

MUSIC CITATION BY FORMAT: APA STYLE, 6th EDITION (NON-VISUAL MATERIALS)

 

 Material Type

 In-Text Citation

 Bibliography

 LINER NOTES: from a  sound  recording

(Obiera, 1998)

Obiera, P. (1998). “Lyricism and exotic colour.” In The pearl fishers (pp. 4-5) [CD liner notes]. Germany: Philips Classics.   

For More information see ECU Library's Referencing: Music Score & Liner Notes. 

 SOUND RECORDING:          BASICS

  For more information  see    APA blog or Referencing     @Portsmouth

(Writer/composer, copyright year, track(s))

In text citations include side and band or track numbers.

Writer/Composer, Initials. (date of copyright). Title of song/composition [Recorded by artist if different from writer/composer]. On Title of album [Medium of recording: CD, record, cassette, etc.]. Location: Label. (Recording date if different from copyright date)

It is uncommon for copyright dates of compositions to be given on music recordings. With classical compositions the dates of composition are likely to appear in liner notes; failing this, they may be obtained from major reference works such as Grove's dictionary of music and musicians. (n.d.) is the standard abbreviation where the date is not known.

 Sound recording:

 CD

(Palestrina, n.d., tracks 1-7)

Palestrina, G. P. da. (n.d.) Missa: Dum complerentur [Recorded by Christchurch Cathedral Choir]. On Mass for Pentecost and motets [CD]. Wyastone Leys: Nimbus Records. (1987).

 Radio Broadcast   (Woolf, 2008)  

Woolf, R. (Presenter). (2008, December 10). Drive [Radio broadcast].   Perth, Australia: Australian Broadcasting Commission.

 SOUND RECORDING   (ONLINE): BASICS

 For more information  see   APA blog or Referencing   @Portsmouth

(Writer/composer, date)

Writer/Composer, Initials. (date of copyright). Title of song/composition [Recorded by artist if different from writer/composer]. On Title of album [Medium of recording: CD, mp3, etc.]. Retrieved from web address (Recording date if different from copyright date)

In general use the DOI if available, otherwise, use the URL. See DOI and URL Flowchart - APA Style Blog.

 Sound recording: (Online)

(Wilson, 1979)

Wilson, R. (1979). Sour Flowers. On Brash Attacks. [Streaming album] Retrieved from https://vassar.naxosmusiclibrary.com/catalogue/item.asp?cid=TROY1080 (2008)

  Note: On this recording Richard Wilson is the performer.

 MUSIC SCORE:   BASICS

      (Composer, date)

Composer, A. A. (Date). Title of work [Format]. Location: Publisher.

 Identify which type of     score you are   citing (e.g. Vocal     score, Orchestral score):

(Picker & McClatchy, 1995)

Picker, T. (Composer), & McClatchy, J. D. (Librettist). (1995). Emmeline: An opera in two acts [Score and parts]. Mainz, Germany: Schott Helicon.

 Include the original   publication date:

 (Haydn, 1798/2001)

Haydn, F. J. (2001). The creation [Score]. Mineola, NY: Dover. (Original work published 1798)

 If works are known by   unique catalogue numbers,   include them as part of the   title:

 (Mozart, 1791/1970)

Mozart, W. A. (1970). Die Zauberflöte [The magic flute], K. 620 [Vocal score]. Munich, Germany: Becksche Verlagsbuchhandlung. (Original work published 1791) 

  Music score: (Online)

(Stravinsky, 1989)

Stravinsky, I. (1989). Rite of spring [Score]. Mineola: Dover Publications. Retrieved from http://www.petruccilibrary.us/linkhandler.php?path=files/imglnks/music_files/PMLUS00725-complete1.pdf  (Original work published 1911-13, Rev. 1943)

In general use the DOI if available, otherwise, use the URL. See DOI and URL Flowchart - APA Style Blog.

 Music score in set of   complete works

(Verdi, 1983)

Verdi, G. (1983). Rigoletto: Melodrama in three acts. In P. Gossett (Series Ed.) & M. Chusid (Vol. Ed.), The works of Giuseppe Verdi: Series 1, Operas (Vol. 17) [Score]. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

 Music score in an   anthology

(Schumann, 1849/1988)

Schumann, R. (1988). Kennst du das Land [Knowest thou where], Op. 79 [Vocal score]. In C. V. Palisca (Ed.), Norton Anthology of Western Music (2nd ed., pp. 338-342). New York: Norton. (Original work published in 1849)

  LIBRETTO:

(Sondheim & Lapine, 2008)

Sondheim, S. & Lapine, J. (2008). Into the woods [Libretto]. New York: Theatre Communications Group, Inc.

MUSIC CITATION BY FORMAT: APA STYLE, 6th EDITION (VISUAL MATERIALS)

The  ECU Library: Referencing: Audio Visual Media website has an extensive discussion regarding the citing of audio-visual materials in APA citation style.  

"List the primary contributors in the author position and use parentheses to identify their contribution, if you know it.

When audiovisual materials have no named author; use an abbreviated form of the title in both in-text and bibliography citations. The bibliography should contain a description of the medium and include the roles of the various participants involved in the production (e.g., director, producer) if this information is available."

For additional examples see: Auckland University of Technology (AUT) APA Referencing Style Guide: Film & Television.

The following was taken from the Edith Cowen University Library (ECU): Referencing: Audio Visual Media  and the Auckland University of Technology (AUT) APA Referencing Style Guide: Film & Television.

Material Type In- text Reference Bibliography
FILM / MOTION PICTURE/ VIDEO RECORDING: BASICS  (Producer & Director, date)

Producer, A. A. (Producer), & Director, B. B. (Director). (Year). Title of motion picture [Motion picture]. Country of origin: Studio

Film or motion picture, three contributors: (Deeley, York, & Scott, 1984)

Deeley, M., & York, B. (Producers), & Scott, R. (Director). (1984). Bladerunner  [Motion picture]. United States: Warner Brothers.

Note: When the city is not known, just give the country.

Video recording (Williams & Bell, 1998)

Williams, S. (Producer), & Bell, A. J. W. (Director). (1998). Lost for words. [Video]. UK: Yorkshire Television.

ONLINE VIDEO: BASICS (Author/Producer, date)

Author, A. A.  [Screen name].  (Year, month, day). Title of video [Video file]. Retrieved from http://xxxx 

 In general use the DOI if available, otherwise, use the URL. See DOI and URL Flowchart - APA Style Blog.

Streaming video: Database (Marcom Projects, 2004)

Marcom Projects (Producer). (2004). Media literacy: Media ethics [Streaming video]. Retrieved from Kanopy Video Streaming database.

Video: YouTube [Video file] (Dunning, 2011)

Dunning, B. [volleybrian]. (2011, September 15). Here be dragons [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=752V173e31o&list=UUG9DGRmeyQZAlcCD4JGMilQ

To facilitate retrieval, the person who posted the video is put in the author position. If they have a screen name put that in [...] immediately after, using capitals or not, just as it appears on YouTube.