Libraries

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

POLI 282: Developing Economies in the Liberal International Order

Resources for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Politics, international relations, government, public policy.
International Political Science Abstracts
Non-evaluative abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world
PAIS
Index to journals, books, government publications, etc., on global public policy and social issues.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
International affairs, working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, and books

Example Search Terms

BRICS AND ("emerging market" OR "emerging econom*" OR "developing count*") AND dollar
BRICS AND (emerging OR developing ) N/1 (market OR countr* OR econom*) AND dollar

Note that different databases may N# (without the slash) as a proximity indicator.

ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals. Coverage 1850 - present
Scopus
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
1. For Safari users: limits currently do not work. Please use Firefox. 2. For Mac users: When using Firefox, you may be confronted with a request to login. To eliminate this problem, please clear the cache in Firefox and restart the browser.
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.
Web of Science
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
The Web of Science “Core Collection” includes the following:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)
Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S)
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH)
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)
Index Chemicus (IC)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

Historical Abstracts
Index of scholarly articles on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Date range of the articles:1955-present. Date range of the subject matter: 1450-present
EconLit
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics from national and international economics journals.
ProQuest Social Science Collection
Combined search of 15 ProQuest products: Alt-PressWatch, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, Black Study Center, Coronavirus Research Database, Econlit, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Healthcare Administration Database, LGBT Magazine Archive, PAIS, PTSDpubs, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Search for these titles in Library Search; note that the journal website may not be the best access point since we may have full text access through another platform. If we do not have a subscription, check to see what open access holdings are available, or request specific articles through InterLibrary Loan.

American Political Science Review
American Journal of Political Science
European Journal of Political Economy
International Journal of Political Economy
Journal of Political Economy
New Political Economy
Political Science Research and Methods
Politics and Governance
Review of International Political Economy
World Politics
World Development

Journal & Article Evaluation Checklist (great for your own writing too)
Web of Science Journal Impact Factor
- WoS indexes a smaller collection of higher quality journals; WoS will rank the journals included in its indexes.
- In WoS search results, click on the journal title to view the JIF and more information.
View author profiles and publications in Web of Science, Scopus, GoogleScholar, researcher/institutional websites
View article citation metrics; this doesn't equal consensus or quality, however may indicate an impact on subsequent research.
Ulrich's international periodicals directory
- Contains listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. It also contains complete names and addresses of journal publishers