Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Sociology

Recommended resources for getting started with sociology research

USING DATABASES

The databases on this page are suggested starting points for locating scholarly peer-reviewed articles, along with other types of informational resources:

Complete Sociology Database List

SOCIOLOGY DATABASES

Sociological Abstracts
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts of current research on social work, human services, and related areas.

SAGE Discipline Hub - Sociology, Gender Studies, and Cultural Studies
SAGE collection of core disciplinary journals and books in sociology, gender studies, and cultural studies.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Scopus
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
1. For Safari users: limits currently do not work. Please use Firefox. 2. For Mac users: When using Firefox, you may be confronted with a request to login. To eliminate this problem, please clear the cache in Firefox and restart the browser.
Web of Science
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
The Web of Science “Core Collection” includes the following:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)
Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S)
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH)
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)
Index Chemicus (IC)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

Vassar Library Search
Access the vast resources available at the Vassar College Libraries. Use Library Search to locate books, special collections, media, government documents, and electronic resources, including journals, journal articles, ebooks, databases, and more.

Google Scholar
Links to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

SOCIAL SCIENCE & OTHER DISCIPLINE SPECIFIC DATABASES

ERIC
National education database containing citations to research documents, journal articles, technical reports, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
PsycInfo
American Psychological Association index covering the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations.
Social Science Research Network
Working papers and forthcoming papers in the social sciences.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.