Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

MUSIC 180: Defining Jazz Music

GENERAL MUSIC ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

"Grove" originated as a print dictionary (encyclopedia really) and has been published since 1878 in many editions. In 2001 it was launched as an online publication.

In English. "The first stop for music research." Includes subjects and biographies and is arranged alphabetically. The online version is updated periodically. 

Both print and online versions include:

  • extensive bibliographies
  • lists of composers works ("works lists')

Print versions:

[Mus Ref Book ML100 .N48]

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians. London : Macmillan Publishers ; Washington, D.C. : Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 2001.

29 volumes. Most recent physical edition. Edited by Stanley Sadie.

[Mus Ref Book ML102.J3 N48 2001

The new Grove dictionary of jazz. New York : Grove's Dictionaries Inc., 2002.

3 volumes. Most recent physical edition. Edited by Barry Kernfeld.

Online version: Grove Music Online

Includes:

  • The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001)
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992)
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).

 

Examples:

Subjects: Jazz   Swing    Race record  Bop

Biographical: Duke Ellington   Ella Fitzgerald    Miles Davis    Aretha Franklin