Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

Media Studies Resources

General Indexes and Abstracts

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Indexing and abstracts for 360 core titles in the field. Full text provided for over 230 journals.

 

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America (AMExplorer)

Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms as well as aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history.

 

Nexis Uni

Delivers more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives

 

Arts & Humanities Citation INDEX

Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.

 

MLA International Bibliography

Index to scholarly resources on language, literature, film, theater, and folklore.

 

JSTOR 

Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.

 

Project MUSE

Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

 

ProQuest Research Library

Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals. Coverage 1850 - present

 

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.

 

Media History Digital Library

A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound from the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research.

 

Film Reference sources.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

Index to articles on film and television.

 

American Film Scripts Online

American Film Scripts Online contains scripts together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Facsimile images for many of the screenplays are included. Most of the scripts haven't been published before and are not otherwise available online. Search options include subject, character name, writer, film title, actors, and directors.

 

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text 

Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides full indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

 

Socialism on Film (AMExplorer)

Collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

 

Film Literature Index

The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular.

 

 

Miscellaneous Media Studies Resources

 

Black Life in America : the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

 

This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life--as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent via Black-owned newspapers and mainstream publications

 

 

Women's Media Center

 

Non-profit progressive women's media organization that aims to make women visible and powerful in the media.  Contains articles, reports, news, and more.

 

 

On the Media

 

Part of the ground-breaking radio programs and podcasts for public radio, OTM is a weekly investigation into how the media shapes our world view.

 

 

Authentic History Center

Tells the story of the United States primarily through popular culture

 

The Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School

Good source of projects, white papers, and legal proceedings

 

 

Music Industry Data

Music Industry Data is a database of popular music chart data from around the world. From the US, UK, Europe, South America and Asia, Music Industry Data delivers access to an authoritative database under exclusive academic license from Billboard, the Official Charts Company and many more.

 

US Patent and Data Office Seven Step Search Strategy 

 

A "Quick Start" for new patent searchers provided by the United States Patent and Trademark Office

Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Guides

The Oxford Companion to the Book.  2 vols.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2010.

 

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2009 (Internet access)

 

Keywords for Media Studies /  edited by Laurie Ouellette and Jonathan Gray. New York University Press, 2017.

 

Critical terms for media studies / edited by W.J.T. Mitchell and Mark B.N. Hansen.  Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.

 

LC Subject headings:

  • Media and Communication
  • Media Literacy
  • Mass Media
  • Advertising -- Media Planning
  • Communication and Culture
  • Press and Propaganda
  • Television
  • Motion Pictures
  • Digital Media