Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

Prof. Murdoch's courses: A research guide

A guide to resources for research assignments in Prof. Murdoch's courses

Newspapers and Magazines at VC Library are in several formats

VC Library's collection of British and international periodicals, i.e. newspapers and magazines, is extensive. Some are available digitally, some on microfilm, and some in print. Some print periodicals are shelved in the Periodical Room on the second floor of the Main Library, others are housed in the Special Collections and Archives Library on the lower floor of the Main Library. Items outside of Special Collections can be accessed whenever the Library is open. To view items in Special Collections, email spcoll@vassar.edu to schedule an appointment.

Magazines are also included in many of the Archival Collection databases. Search for any individual newspaper or magazine title in Journals, a button in the yellow box on the library webpage.

Times Digital Archive
Times of London digital edition. Coverage: 1785-2019
Sunday Times Digital Archive
Sunday Times of London digital edition
Coverage: 1822-2016
C19 The Nineteenth Century Index
Integrated access to indexes for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives
British Library Newspapers
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
British Periodicals
Searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Includes scanned facsimiles of illustrated journals.
Nineteenth Century U.K. Periodicals
Composed mainly from the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Primary source collections of the nineteenth century
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Full facsimile run of the world’s first illustrated weekly newspaper
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016
Archive of the Daily Mail. Also contains the Atlantic Editions printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016
Complete run of the London edition, from its first issue in 1888 through 2016.
African Newspapers (CRL's World Newspaper Archive)
Full text of fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries (Vassar's holdings include Series 1 and 2)
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection
More than 60 African historical newspapers from the nineteenth century
Times of India Historical File
Times of India historical file
Mac Users: To open PDFs, note special on-screen instructions to “open with your PDF reader.”
Southeast Asian Newspapers
Open access newspaper collection chronicles the region during the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries, and the challenges of early statehood, including coverage of Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Coverage: 1839-1976 with gaps

Titles in Print or Microfilm

This is a sampling of the holdings of news periodicals and popular magazines

The Lancet Microfilm 739 1823-1937 (use Science Direct database as an index)

Punch AP101.8 1842-1992

Contemporary Review AP4.C76 1866-current

Fortnightly Review AP4.F7 1865-1934

Freeman's Journal (Dublin) 1806-1902 microfilm 1048

The Spectator AP4.S7 1874-current

Blackwoods Edinburgh Magazine AP4.B6 1817-1905

The Cornhill Magazine AP4.C8 1860-1888

The Westminster Review AP4.W5 1824-1914

Illustrated London News Microfilm 266 1842-1899

Pall Mall Gazette Microfilm 342 1876-1885

Poor Man's Guardian Microfilm 155 1831-1835

The Times (London) Microfilm 1023 1785-current

Manchester Guardian Folio AP4.M27 1914-1919

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2022 3:57 PM
URL: https://library.vassar.edu/murdoch
Print Page

Subjects: History

Tags: 19th, victorian