Index of scholarly articles, and some books and book chapters, in the discipline of History (excluding the U.S. and Canada) starting in 1450.  A key feature of Historical Abstracts is a searching option where you can limit to the time period you are researching. Most databases only have search features for when the article was published.  Historical Abstracts is not a full text database.  It searches citations and abstracts. If Vassar doesn't subscribe to an article or own a book you find in Historical Abstracts, you can use our extensive InterLibrary Loan services through InterLibrary Loan.

Searchable full text of back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Coverage of most journals ends 5 years prior to the current time, so you may want to supplement your search with Project Muse and/or Web of Science to identify the most recent scholarship on a topic.

Index to scholarly resources on language, literature, film, theater, and folklore

Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Index Online, provides additional indexing for articles in over 4,700 periodicals.

Indexes scholarly journals in humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995.

Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

Multidisciplinary index that covers scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities as well as STEM fields. Especially useful for identifying new and seminal authors and books, and the conversations between scholars.