Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

SOCI 214: Transnational Perspectives on Women and Work

Dr. Light Carruyo, Spring 2024

SELECTING DATABASES

The databases on this page are suggested starting points for locating scholarly peer-reviewed articles, along with other types of informational resources. When selecting a database, consider:

scope: subject specific or multidisciplinary
resource type: books, peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, legal documents, data, primary sources, etc
- perspective & voice
date coverage: historical coverage; moving date limits
access: full text, citation only, or a mix
tools: search functionality and features

SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS: INTRO TO BASIC SEARCHING TUTORIAL

Google Sheet Research Planning Acitvity

Link to Google Sheet: https://bit.ly/vclsoci214

Databases for Starting Your Search: Peer-Reviewed Articles & More

Sociological Abstracts
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Sociological Abstracts Sample Search

SAGE Discipline Hub - Sociology, Gender Studies, and Cultural Studies
SAGE collection of core disciplinary journals and books in sociology, gender studies, and cultural studies.

GenderWatch
Full-text of publications on issues of gender in a broad spectrum of subject areas.
ProQuest Social Science Collection
Combined search of 15 ProQuest products: Alt-PressWatch, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, Black Study Center, Coronavirus Research Database, Econlit, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Healthcare Administration Database, LGBT Magazine Archive, PAIS, PTSDpubs, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

ABI/Inform Complete
Coverage of business conditions and trends, advertising, marketing, product information, and more. Date range: 1855 - present
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexing and abstracts for key journals in communications, mass media, and related fields of study. Level of access and searchability for titles vary. Information about journals will include indexing and abstracts, and may include full text, PDFs, or searchable cited references. Also provides a thesaurus and author profiles. Date range: 1915 - present
Includes the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State)
EconLit
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics from national and international economics journals.
ERIC
National education database containing citations to research documents, journal articles, technical reports, and more
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Full coverage: 1959 - present.
For historical content, date filter for years "1959-1989".
PAIS
Index to journals, books, government publications, etc., on global public policy and social issues.
Global Think Tanks
Public policy reports, working papers, briefs, datasets, and media produced by IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. Date range: 1920-present
PsycInfo
American Psychological Association index covering the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations.
PubMed
Index of scholarly articles relevant to biomedicine and clinical medicine.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Politics, international relations, government, public policy.

Google Scholar
Links to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
JSTOR
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly and popular periodicals. Coverage 1850 - present
Scopus
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
1. For Safari users: limits currently do not work. Please use Firefox. 2. For Mac users: When using Firefox, you may be confronted with a request to login. To eliminate this problem, please clear the cache in Firefox and restart the browser.
Web of Science
Index of articles from scholarly journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching capability.
The Web of Science “Core Collection” includes the following:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)
Book Citation Index - Science (BCKI-S)
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BCKI-SSH)
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)
Index Chemicus (IC)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

Library Search
Use the Library Search to find print and electronic books and periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers) owned by the Library, as well as other media. Use the drop-down menus to specify the type of search you want to conduct. When Vassar does not have the book you need or our copy is not available, search Connect NY.