Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Religion

a brief guide for the study of religion

Reference Sources

Good, authoritative, reference tools are an excellent way to understand a discipline and to find primary and secondary sources for further reading. The list below represents some of the more recent tools available, both in print and in electronic form. However, a search of the catalog and browsing the shelves will locate even more items.

Anchor Bible Dictionary (Doubleday,1992)
The leading encyclopedia for biblical studies, including non-canonical materials. Contains lengthy bibliographies. In print.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism (Brill, 2009-)
The goal of this encyclopedia is to present the latest scholarship on all aspects of Hinduism. So far, 2 of the 5 volumes are available. Contains up-to-date bibliographies. In print.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (1972)
The leading encyclopedia in Jewish studies. Other editions exist, but this is the best and most scholarly, despite its date. In print.
Encyclopedia of African Religion (Sage, 2009)
Provides ideas, concepts, discourses, and essays on the African religious traditions. Online.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism (Government of Ceylon, 1961-)
An encyclopedia which began publication in 1961 and is still being published.

Encyclopedia of Islam, Three
Comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. Includes access to Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd Edition; Glossary and Index of Terms; and Historical Atlas of Islam.

Encyclopedia of Religion in America (CQ Press, 2010)
This encyclopedia explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America. It includes coverage of religious life among indigenous peoples; specific aspects of religious life; and the relationship of religion to the political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. Topics include: church-state issues; ecology; GLBT issues; politics; religious life of African Americans and Latinos; role of women; and worship. Online.
Encyclopedia of the Qur'an (Brill, 2001-2006)
This encyclopedia contains entries on all aspects of scholarship on the Qur'an. Bibliographies, sometimes lengthy, are included with most articles. In print.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions. 8th ed. (Gale, 2009)
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Online.