Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ

Prof. Rashid's courses: a research guide

A guide to resources for research assignments in Prof. Rashid's courses.

Books

Using tools of effective research look for books in Vassar and Connect NY catalogs.  Subject Headings can guide you to primary sources; these keywords are Library of Congress Subject Heading vocabulary indicating primary sources:

sources, letters, interviews, speeches, personal narratives, diaries, correspondence, sermons, notebooks, sketches, description and travel, treaties, pamphlets, biography (includes memoirs), newspapers, periodicals, pictorial works, art, architecture, portraits, caricatures and cartoons, cookery, decorative arts, furniture, material culture, guide books, maps, fiction, poetry, periodicals, newspapers, bibliography, early works to 1800

Not every primary source includes one of these words, but it's a great start.  For example:

Center for Research Libraries

CRL collection can be requested through InterLibrary Loan.  Indicate the OCLC# for any item you request.

CRL's collection specializes in foreign and ethnic newspapers, as well as microfilm collections of archival collections.

Primary Sources Databases

Website Archive projects