It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Protestant counterpart of the New Catholic Encyclopedia. Useful for people and organizations; includes bibliographic references to primary and secondary sources. Location: Reference BX4811.3 .E53 2004
If you are looking for a paper topic, reading a good reference book will help you get focused. Reference sources will guide you through the recent scholarly thinking about a subject and then direct you to primary and secondary sources on that topic.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (Oxford, 2003)
Great for people and ideas with good bibliography. Location: Reference B802 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of the French revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars: a Political, Social, and Military History (ABC-CLIO, 2006).
Useful with a very lengthy bibliography at the end. Location: Reference DC220 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance (Scribner's, 1999).
Another very good multi-volume encyclopedia containing references to primary and secondary sources on all aspects of the Renaissance. Location: Reference CB361 .E52 1999
In print, this is a six-volume survey of European history from 1450 to 1789 and the French Revolution. The entries cover personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. Each entry contains a bibliography for further reading.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (Catholic University Press, 2003)
A multi-volume encyclopedia that provides detailed articles relating to Catholicism. An excellent place to turn for people and organizations. Location: Reference BX 841 .N44 2003