Libraries

Today's hours:

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

HIST 259: The History of the Family in Early Modern Europe (1500-1800)

Digitized Textual Sources

In a number of instances, the Vassar College Library will have several different digital representations of a work, as well as one or more, print editions. Some print editions available in the Rare Books collection are only findable via the Dewey Card Catalog. Please request help from a research librarian when in doubt.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries: newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) and held by the British Library.
ARTFL
"representing a broad range of written French -- from novels and poetry to biology and mathematics -- stretching from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries."
Early English Books Online
Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digital version of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of works from the Americas.
Electronic Enlightenment
“With 57,334 letters and documents as of June 2010, EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid 19th century.”
Limited to 1 user at a time.
Gallica
Digital documents from the Bibliotheque nationale de France grouped by themes
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1542-1945
Primary sources in women's history
Parker Library on the Web
An interactive, web-based workspace that allows access to high-resolution copies of every page in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, including over 530 manuscripts spanning the sixth to the sixteenth centuries, a fully tagged version of M. R. James’ well-known catalogue (A Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Corpus Christi College Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 1912), and bibliographic entries for more than 6,000 secondary works and more than 18,000 citations linking those works to individual manuscripts.
Women Writers Online
Texts by pre-Victorian women writers

Visual/Material Culture Sources

In addition to the digital resources below, the Art Library has thousands of excellent books that include reproductions of great works of art. Looking up an artist in the library catalog, and then browsing the shelves at the appropriate call number is a wonderful way to peruse artistic representations of the themes in this course.

ARTstor
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
Requires Flash Player 6 or higher. Pop-up blocking software must be disabled or set to allow pop-up windows from www.artstor.org and cookies must be enabled.

Index of Christian Art
Documents works of art in all media produced from apostolic times through 15th century with Christian themes or for ecclesiastical settings. Extensive bibliographic citations.
Metropolitan Museum Collections Database
Explore by Department and navigate through results using page numbers, organized chronologically

Ask a Librarian

Gretchen Lieb

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Schedule a Research Consultation
Liaison AreasEnglish, Drama, Film, Geography, History, American Studies, Asian Studies, Environmental Studies, International Studies, Religion, Women's, Feminist and Queer Studies

tel: 845.437.5770

Subjects: American Studies, Asian Studies, Chinese & Japanese, Drama, English, Environmental Studies, Film, Gender & Sexuality, Geography, Global Nineteenth-Century Studies, History, International Studies, Jewish Studies, Religion, Women, Feminist, & Queer Studies