• Scholarly or peer-reviewed journals have collections of articles written by experts in academic or professional fields. Their intended audience is other scholars and professionals. Journals are excellent for finding out what has been studied or researched on a topic and to find bibliographies that point to other relevant sources of information.

• Magazines are good sources of information or opinions about popular culture or up-to-date information on current events. The writers may have some subject expertise but they are paid journalists.  Popular magazines typically have colorful covers and lots of advertisements.  

• Newspapers are usually published daily and are a good source of local information, editorials, and opinions.  Writers are paid professionals and not necessarily experts in the fields they write about.

• The language is often complex; includes specialized terms and the jargon of the discipline 

• Articles are lengthy

• Articles describe original research, experimentation, or in-depth studies in the field

• Advertising is minimal or non-existent

Find  articles by looking up your topic (or an author who is an expert on your topic) in one of the library's online databases.  A list of databases by discipline is available on the library's home page.  

To access electronic resources from off-campus, use the ACCESS FROM OFF-CAMPUS link (upper right corner of library home page) to log into the campus network.

  Databases useful for the study of Evolution:

There are 2 ways to look up a journal by title via the library's home page:

• Type the journal title into the JOURNAL box

• Click on the journal A-Z list tab and then type the journal title into the box (this is the display you see when you click on the FIND FULLTEXT links in our databases) 

          Example:    Folia primatologica