Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia for the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement.
Collections of declassified U.S. government documents covering critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
British government records generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Areas covered in the records include Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil. Date range: approximately 1820-1970
Original physical collections are held by the British National Archives
The largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. Includes music and dance.
Includes the papers of inventor Thomas A. Edison, immigration records to the United States during the massive immigration wave from 1880-1930; legal collections from the Harvard Law School Library featuring the papers of three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, and one of the most infamous criminal cases of the 20th century; papers of the Progressive leader Robert M. La Follette; records from the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House and other federal agencies on the New Deal and World War II; FBI Files on radical politics; records of the Truman and Eisenhower Presidencies; records of Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and other anti-Vietnam War organizations; and records on American Politics from the beginning of the Kennedy administration through the Nixon Administration
