It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.
The sources listed below are useful for getting background information,
defining a topic, gathering statistics, and locating other material through
bibliographies. Sources are both print and electronic and include encyclopedias
and dictionaries, atlases, web links, bibliographies, and so on.
Find reference books by searching for subjects in the online catalog and adding a subheading such as Bio-bibliography--Dictionaries; Biography;
Encyclopedias; Handbooks, manuals, etc.;
Africa Bibliography (Z 3503.A34)
Delay in publishing. Latest received 2001.
African American Biographies: Profiles of 558 Current Men and Women (Ref. E 185.96.H38 1992)
African American Women: a Biographical Dictionary (Ref. E 185.96.A45 1993)
Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950 (Microfiche)
Black Women in America: an Historical Encyclopedia (Ref. E 185.86.B542 1993)
Notable Black American Women (Ref. E 185.96.N68 1992)
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Covers theory and research in
international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, books, journals, occasional papers series
from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators. Also includes maps
and country data and more.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases, Handbooks
The African-American Atlas: Black History and Culture--An Illustrated
Reference (Ref. Folio E 185 A79 1998)
Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American
Experience (Ref. DT 14.A37435 1999)
Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery (Ref. E 441.D53 1988)
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (Ref.
E 185.E54 1996 & Suppl)
Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage (Electronic Book-NetLibrary)