Indexes and Databases
Most of the indexes listed below are not specifically focused on Africana Studies topics but will all have information pertinent to different areas of the program.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Black Studies Center
Contains the Schomburg Studies in the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index, and full text of the Chicago Defender and Daily Defender.
Arts and Literature
- Art Abstracts
Includes information compiled by specialists with expertise in all fields of art to provide an international perspective on many art subjects. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Serves as a comprehensive record of reproductions of works of art that appear in the indexed publications.
- Black Drama (Alexander Street Press)
- Black Thought and Culture: African-Americans to 1975 (Alexander Street Press)
- MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full-Text
- RILM (Music Literature)
International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. Includes articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, e-publications, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews.
Country Information
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Covers theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, books, journals, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators. Also includes maps and country data and more.
- Europa World Plus
Includes Africa South of the Sahara.
News
Politics, Government, and Law
Social Sciences
- AfricaBib.Org
Two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database) and a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2000: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).
- America: History and Life
Index to articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, book and media reviews on history and culture of U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes abstracts and links to full-text in other library databases.
- Anthropology Plus
- ATLA Religion Index
- Contemporary Women's Issues
- GEOBASE
- Historical Abstracts
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to world's literature in sociology and related disciplines (anthropology, economics, education, medicine, political sciences, and more. Abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, conference papers, dissertations, books, and books reviews.
