Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Vassar

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.
Read More

Basic Music Research: Methods and Resources

Basic Research method, Evaluating sources, Citation styles and scholarly communication, basic music research sources

GENERAL MUSIC ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

1) "Grove" originated as a print dictionary (encyclopedia really) that has been in continuous publication since 1878 in many updates and editions. Accessible in two versions:

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians.  29 volumes. In print.

Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and 4 others.  Updated periodically.

"Grove" in either print or online form is "the first stop for music research."

In English. Extensive bibliographies and composer "works lists".  Biographies and subjects; arranged alphabetically.  Contains extensive articles on the music of geographical locations. Search by location or by specific musical instrument.

Examples: Philippe de Monte   Purcell, Henry   Bach, Johann Sebastian 

  John Harbison   India     Indonesia    Gamelan     sitar

2) "MGG"

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik.  27 volumes. In print.

In German. Extensive bibliographies and composer works lists.  Arranged in 2 sections: Sachteil (subjects) and Personenteil (biographies).  Arranged alphabetically in both sections.