Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

  • Ask a Librarian
  • FAQ
.
We are excited to share our new Library catalog and search tool! We hope that you will find it easy to search and explore our collections. If you need help, have questions, or want to share feedback, visit the Ask a Librarian page.

Basic Music Research: Methods and Resources

Basic Research method, Evaluating sources, Citation styles and scholarly communication, basic music research sources

MUSIC-RELATED INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS

Music Periodicals Database (Full-text)

Covers many scholarly and popular music journals.  Music Periodicals Database (Full-Text) indexes and provides full text for some, not all, journal articles cited.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-)

Covers scholarly periodicals, dissertations and chapters of books in a variety of languages. Clear, verified bibliographic information, fully cited, abstracted, and indexed. RILM Abstracts provides citations for both print and electronic sources. Abstracts only; NO full text.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800-1950) 

When completed will cover 1800-to 1960.  Limit your searches by date, publication, language, full text availability. Includes full text.

JSTOR 

JSTOR is not an index, but may be used to search words in the texts of those 112 music journals that appear in JSTOR.  JSTOR acts like an index for the journals it covers since it can be searched by keyword.