Libraries

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Streaming A-V Databases

STREAMED AUDIO: WORLD (CLASSICAL AND FOLK): COMMERCIAL AND FIELD RECORDINGS

American Folklife Center. Online Collections.
Includes many sound collections including:
Alan Lomax Collection of Michigan and Wisconsin Recordings
California Gold: Northern California Folk Music From the Thirties
Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection
Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection
The Library of Congress Celebrates the Songs of America
Omaha Indian Music
and more.
Association for Cultural Equity
Founded by Alan Lomax to explore and preserve the world's expressive traditions and cultural practices.
Dedicated to ensuring that children
learn about the oral traditions
of their families and localities.
Sounds. World and Traditional Music. British Library.
Choose The World and
Traditional Music to find
music by:
continent
country
language.

Contemporary World Music: AUDIO DATABASE
Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Can not download from this site.
Ethnographic Video Online: VIDEO DATABASE
The largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior –
more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion.
The collection covers
every region of the world
and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century,
including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Includes music and dance.
Global Jukebox : AUDIO DATABASE
Collection of music, dance, and speech
from around the globe, recorded by
ethnographers at times when
mass communications were less pervasive
than they are now.
Search by map or by geographical color wheel.
Choose the "Enter as Guest" option

Global Music Archive
Multimedia archive for traditional and
popular music and dance of Africa
and the Americas, with particular
emphasis on the African Diaspora.
Includes audio, video, and bibliography.
Irish Traditional Music Archive / Taisce Cheol Dúchais Éireann
Irish Traditional Music Archive / Taisce Cheol Dúchais Éireann
A reference library and archives for Irish traditional music and dance, including music from the island of Ireland, Irish settlements abroad, and non-Irish performers of Irish traditional music. The Digital Library includes sound recordings, images, and digitized books and scores from the library's collections.
Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary Digital Collections
Includes field recordings of Jewish liturgical music from pre-state Israel and Cochin, India;
early twentieth-century sheet music
from Russia and Central Europe;
and Cantorial School theses.
Sephardic Music: A Century of Recordings
Discographies, historical background,
and some audio recordings
of Sephardic music.

Smithsonian Global Sound: AUDIO DATABASE
A virtual
encyclopedia of
the world's musical
and aural traditions.
Can not download from this site. To purchase downloads of this material go to http://www.smithsonianglobalsound.org/

Virtual Gramophone (Library and Archives Canada)
A discography of Canadian 78-RPM recordings
with selected digitized audio,
biographies,
historical background,
and more.

PHYSICAL RECORDINGS BY GEOGRAPHIC LOCATION AND PEOPLE GROUP

WORLD MUSIC RECORDINGS IN THE VASSAR MUSIC LIBRARY COLLECTION: DISCOGRAPHY

Recordings of world music are often difficult to find. This discography of world music recordings in the Vassar College Libraries may be helpful if you can not find streamed recordings. This listing has been closed as of January 1, 2010. Many of the recordings in this collection are LPs which must be used in the Vassar Music Library. For compact discs acquired after this date, check the Vassar College online catalog.

Last Updated: May 9, 2024 7:58 PM
URL: https://library.vassar.edu/VassarstreamsAV
Print Page

Subjects: Music