Directory of archival collections from libraries, museums, historical societies and other institutions that hold cultural heritage material. The bulk of the material is from the United States, but material from Canada, Australia, parts of Europe, and elsewhere is also included.
Historical documents covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students. Date range: 1738-2014
Primary source materials, including letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries, from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. Includes Black freedom struggle in the 20th century; Struggle for women's rights, organizational records, 1880-1990; and Women's studies manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library.
This guide from Brown University Library offers information about services and resources for foreign libraries and research institutes; disregard the first page and select your region of interest to view sources.
The United States Department of State, Office of the Historian has for many years provided researchers a guide to the accessibility of diplomatic archives around the world, intended to give researchers a starting place for their inquiries.
Collections of declassified U.S. government documents covering critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Periodicals, books, government records, oral histories, and ephemera created by and about both far-left and far-right organizations. Areas for research include racism, nationalism, fascism, national socialism, anti-semitism, anti-Catholicism, communism and more
Groups include the Ku Klux Klan, the Posse Comitatus, the House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC), the U.S. Communist Party, the Socialist Workers Party, and more. The material comes primarily from the United Kingdom and the United States, but also Bolivia, Chile, Hungary, and South Africa
FBI files and Subversive Activities Board records relating to the investigation and tracking of Communist groups, Communist-front groups, and other US left-wing, radical organizations. Prominent organizations include the Socialist Workers Party and the Weather Underground. Date range: 1945-1972
