Annual catalogue of Vassar College. (also available in print)

May 1865 - 1870/1871 +  ♦  1871/1872 - 1880/1881  ♦  1881/1882 - 1889/1890  ♦  1890/1891 - 1898/1899  ♦  1899/1900 - 1907/1908  ♦  1908/1909 - 1912/1913  ♦  1913/1914 - 1917/1918  ♦  1918/1919 - 1920/1921  ♦  1919/1920 - 1922/1923  ♦  1923/1924 - 1999/2000  ♦  2001/2002 - 2015/2016  ♦  2013/2014 - present

Annual reports of officers (also available in print)

1901 ♦ 1902 ♦ 1903 ♦ 1904 ♦ 1905 ♦ 1906 ♦ 1907 ♦ 1908 ♦ 1909 ♦ 1910 ♦ 1911 ♦ 1912 ♦ 1913 ♦ 1914 ♦ 1915-1916 ♦ 1916 ♦  1917 ♦ 1918 ♦ 1919 ♦ 1920 ♦ 1921 ♦ 1922 ♦ 1923 ♦ 1924 ♦ 1925 ♦ 1926 ♦ 1927 ♦ 1929 ♦ 1930

General catalogue of the officers and graduates of Vassar College. (also available in print)

First - 1883  ♦  Second - 1890 (print only)  ♦  Third - 1900  ♦  Fourth - 1910  ♦  Fifth - 1920

Vassarion. (full set available in print)

via Hathi Trust or Internet Archive: 1893, 1898, 1899, 1900, 1901, 1903, 1909, 1910, 1914, 1916, 1917, 1919, 1927, 1945

via Ancestry: 1889, 1891, 1893, 1894, 1896, 1897, 1899-1901, 1903-1913, 1916-1919, 1922, 1925-1927, 1929, 1937, 1939, 1943, 1945, 1951, 1956, 1957

All digital material has been made available via the Hathi Trust or the Internet Archive unless otherwise indicated.

"The Education of Women in America," Godey's Lady's Book, Volume 61 (Oct 1860), 368 (available via Proquest's American Periodicals Series and in print in Archives and Special Collections.)

"The Vassar Female College," Vanity Fair, Volume 3 (16 Feb 1861), 82 (available via Proquest's American Periodicals Series and in print)

Proceedings of the Trustees of Vassar Female College at their First Meeting, February 26, 1861 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

"Vassar Female College" by Alpheus Crosby, Massachusetts Teacher, Volume 14 (Aug 1861), 281-289 (also available in print)

"University Education for Women" by Alpheus Crosby, Massachusetts Teacher, Volume 14 (Sep 1861), 332-338 (also available in print)

"Matthew Vassar and the Vassar Female College," American Journal of Education, Number 26 (March 1862), 53-56 (available via Sabin America and in print)

The President's Visit to Europe [by Milo P. Jewett], 1863

Circular by Order of the Trustees of Vassar Female College, 1864 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

"Vasssar College Opened," Godey's Lady's Book, Volume 71 (Aug 1865), 173  (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections.)

Prospectus of the Vassar Female College, 1865 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Vassar College and Its Founder by Benson Lossing, 1867 (also available in print)

"In Memorium" [Matthew Vassar], Godey's Lady's Book, Volume 77 (October 1868), 448-450  (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections.)

Biographical Sketch of Matthew Vassar by John H. Raymond, 1868 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Communications of the Board of Trustees of Vassar College by its Founder, 1869 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

"The Vassar Course of Study" by John Howard Raymond, Godey's Lady's Book, Volume 81 (July 1870), 40-48  (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections.)

Vassar College, A College for Women, in Poughkeepsie, N.Y. by John H. Raymond, 1873 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Historical Sketch of Vassar College, 1876 (also available in print)

Laws and Regulations of Vassar College, 1880

Charter of Vassar College, with the Will of its Founder, 1882 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Addresses at the Celebration of the Completion of the Twenty-fifth Academic Year of Vassar College, June, 1890 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Vassar College, Illustrated, by Elizabeth E. Boyd, Godey's Magazine, Volume 130 (1895 February), 187-197 (Also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Vassar, A College Souvenir edited by Frances Cohen and Elizabeth Boyd, 1896 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Vassar Studies by Julia Augusta Schwartz, 1899 (also available in print)

Vassar Stories (fiction) by Grace Margaret Gallaher, 1900 (also available in print)

Vassar Stories (fiction) by Grace Margaret Gallaher, 1907 (also available in print)

Earliest Years at Vassar: Personal Recollections by Frances Wood, 1909 (also available in print)

The Fiftieth Anniversary of the Opening of Vassar College, 1915 (also available in print)

Letters from Old-Time Vassar, by an anonymous student, 1915 (available via Nineteenth Century Collections Online - also available in print)

The Golden Age of Vassar by Mary Harriott Norris, 1915 (also available in print)

Is This Vassar College by Lucy M. Salmon, 1915 (also available in print)

Before Vassar Opened by James Monroe Taylor, 1914 (also available in print)

Vassar by James Monroe Taylor and Elizabeth Hazelton Haight, 1915 (also available in print)

The Autobiography and Letters of Matthew Vassar, edited by Elizabeth Hazelton Haight, 1916 (also available in print)

Alumnae Biographical Register Issue, Bulletin of Vassar College, 1939 (also available in print)

Vassar College, 1865-1940, 1939 (also available in print in Archives and Special Collections)

Vassar Women: An Informal Study by Agnes Rogers, illustrations by Anne Cleveland and Jean Anderson, 1940 (also available in print)

Life at Vassar: Seventy-Five Years in Pictures, by Marion Bacon, 1940 (also available in print)

The Hickory Limb, by Henry N. MacCracken, 1950 (also available in print)

Department and Program Histories, Vassar 150, sesquicentennial celebration website, 2011 (now archived on the Wayback Machine)

Vassar Inclusive History initiative, website of the campus project started in 2023

See also: 1897 AAUW bibliography of books and articles on women's education

 

Main & Market: Sights and Sounds of the Queen City and Beyond, Poughkeepsie Public Library

Vassar postcards at the New York Public Library

Vassar text-based material and images in the Library of Congress American Memory Project (Type "Vassar" in the search box)

Vassar images from LIFE and elsewhere on Google Arts and Culture (Type "Vassar" in the search box)

Images of Vassar architecture, especially Noyes and the College Center in Artstor (Type "Vassar" in the search box)

1923 Fox Movietone News clips, held by the University of South Carolina

1925 Fox Movietone News clips, held by the University of South Carolina 

1930s home movie from the Prelinger Archives (via the Internet Archive): includes footage of the Vassar campus, crossing the Mid-Hudson Bridge in an automobile, a picnic, tennis, a baseball game, hoop-rolling, VC 1931's Class Day and commencement

1940 Hudson Valley Dig, archaeology professor Mary Butler leads a team of Vassar students on a dig at the Goat Island Rockshelter

1945 VC Summer Institute, from the Prelinger Archives (via the Internet Archive)

The Idea of a University, 1997 episode of Open Mind featuring president Frances D. Ferguson